Golden Age of Piracy > Lesser Antilles

Lesser Antilles

Golden Age of Piracy - Chapter Decoration


The Lesser Antilles, also known as the Caribbees are a group of islands in the Caribbean Sea that form an arc between the Greater Antilles to the north-west and the continent of South America. The islands of the Lesser Antilles form the eastern boundary of the Caribbean Sea with the Atlantic Ocean and together with the Greater Antilles the Lesser Antilles compose the Antilles. When the Antilles are combined with the Bahama (Lucayan) Archipelago they are all known as the West Indies.

The Lesser Antilles islands are divided into three major groups, the Leeward Islands in the north and the Windward Islands in the south. The third major group is the Leeward Antilles which are a group of Dutch controlled islands off the coast of Venezuela along with a few others.

The Lesser Antilles

Leeward Antilles

Leeward Islands

Windward Islands

Golden Age of Piracy



West Indies

East Indies


Primary Sources

Secondary Sources