Dutch Republic > Dutch Mauritius

Dutch Mauritius

Golden Age of Piracy - Chapter Decoration


Dutch Mauritius was established in 1598 by Admiral Wybrand Van Warwyck when he landed at Grand Port and claimed the island for the Dutch Republic. The island was named after Prince Maurice van Nassau and it would take a few years for a settlement to be built there. However, by 1639 some settlers had built a colony and were domesticating animals and deer along with harvesting sugar cane, introduced from the West Indies.

It was from here that Dutch navigator Abel Tasman set out to discover the western part of Australia. The first Dutch settlement lasted twenty years. Several attempts were subsequently made but the settlements never developed enough to produce dividends, leading to the Dutch to abandon Mauritius in 1710

Dutch Republic


Primary Sources

Secondary Sources